Epilepsy South Africa Educational Trust Bursary

About Epilepsy South Africa Educational Trust

Epilepsy SA was formerly known as the South African National Epilepsy League (SANEL) and was established in 1967. It is the only national organisation in the country which offers specialised and extensive services to persons with epilepsy. It aims to develop and improve the quality of life of the target group. The organisation has a National Office located in Cape Town and six regional branches in Western Cape (Cape Town and Wellington), South Cape/Karoo (Knysna), Eastern Cape (East London), Gauteng (Springs and Johanesburg), Free State & North West (Parys) and Mpumalanga & Limpopo (Dullstroom and Elandsdoorn).

The National Office provides services specified in the Northern Cape and KwaZulu-Natal, until a service point can be settled.

Epilepsy South Africa Educational Trust Bursaries

The Epilepsy South Africa Educational Trust grants bursaries specifically to persons with

The Trust bursary is only a partial bursary and does not pay for the full cost of the study. The bursary amount covers only the tuition costs and not residential and other expenses.

The bursary is awarded for one year only and is renewable through reapplication every year. Students must state other bursaries or fundings received from other providers. The bursary may be terminated or withdrawn at any time if the bursary holder’s academic results are not satisfactory.

Bursary terms and conditions:

  1. Satisfactory academic progress must be maintained.
  2. Submission of required documentations and reports should be done in a timely manner.
  3. At least one article about academic experiences should be submitted.
  4. The bursary amount is paid in two installments. The first payment will be made after the agreement signing while the second payment will be made upon receipt of mid-year results and progress reports. Failure to submit the necessary documents will result in the withdrawal of bursary.
  5. Bursaries will be paid directly into the student account at the registered tertiary institution.
  6. Notify the Trust immediately about discontinue of studies.
  7. Bursary holders have the responsibility to financially support the Trust once the bursary recipients completed their studies.
  8. Other sources of funding should be informed to the Trust immediately. Failure to do so will result in termination of the bursary and repayment of all funds already paid.
  9. Attend in the Annual General Meeting of either the National Office or one of the Branches.

Bursary Requirements and Eligibility

  • Individuals with epilepsy who has been accepted for study at any tertiary educational institution
  • Proven financial need
  • Good academic merit
  • Community involvement

How to Apply and Application Details

  1. Download and fill-up the Epilepsy SA Bursary Application Form.
  2. Attach certified copies of the following documents together with the application form:
    • South African ID
    • High School exam results
    • Proof of Acceptance for Admission
    • Qualification certificates and academic results
    • Proof of household income
    • Medical proof of having epilepsy
    • Proof of Epilepsy SA membership
  3. Submit application documents through either of the following methods:
    • Ordinary mail: The Secretary, Epilepsy South Africa Educational Trust, PostNet Suite #131,
      Private Bag X 3, Bloubergrant, 7443
    • Post: Epilepsy South Africa Educational Trust, P.O. Box 12100 N1 City 7463
    • Email: nationaldirector.no@epilepsy.org.za

An incomplete application will not be considered.

Opening & Closing Date

30 October 2020

Contact Details

Post: Postnet Suite #131 Private Bag X3 Bloubergrant, 7443
Tel: (021) 556-3753 or (021) 903-1479
Fax: (021) 556-6956 / 021 – 595 4901
Email: info@epilepsy.org.za

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *